Review: CTRL+ALT+DUETS

Hello geeks of the world! Today I’m bringing you a review of Debs and Errol’s new album, CTRL+ALT+DUETS! This album is an EP of geek parodies, and every person will find at least one song to love from this album. This album can be listened to off Bandcamp.  You can also buy it if you like it for $6! (You should totally buy it! It’s amazing!)

Look! There's even an amazing album cover!

Look! There’s even an amazing album cover!

Without further ado, here is a review of CTRL+ALT+DUETS!

1) Tribbles (Star Trek parody of Taylor Swift’s “I Knew You Were Trouble”): Upon the start, you can already hear that this song isn’t going to be like Taylor Swift’s pop hit. The drums are less forced  and the instrumentals are more relaxed. Debs’s vocals in this song is amazing. There’s just something about her voice that’s so relaxing and serenading. (It’s good that she did, like, 13 takes on this because the vocals are truly perfection.) In fact, Debs actually has Taylor Swift’s power on some of the big notes in the song. The lyrics are well thought out and are catchy. This is the perfect song to open the parody EP and it’s one that can be reached out to all audiences.

2) Tie After Tie (Star Wars parody of Cyndi Lauper’s “Time After Time”): This is the first duet between Debs and Errol on this album. According to their live-chat about the album, this song changes the point-of-view from different Star Wars characters. Debs and Errol have created extraordinary harmonies in this song, and the lyrics tell a story, which is something I really look for in a song. The guitar solo in this song is also pretty cool. What I really love about this song is the beat that is created. I don’t know why, but it soothes me and makes me feel like I’m flying in a galaxy full of stars. This song can also reach out to many audiences, including me, which is why I love it so much.

3) A Virtual World (parody of “A Whole New World” from Aladdin): Errol is Aladdin, Debs is Jasmine (she has a Disney princess voice), and together they sing about computer games. (Can you say Terraria?) And by they, I mean Errol, because Debs doesn’t want to go to the virtual world with Errol. In fact, she complains that if Errol doesn’t stop playing in his virtual world, he’s going to be fat.  As for the vocals, Debs and Errol mix their vocals in such a fantabulous way. Each one of their voices flow perfectly into one another in this duet, and I feel like I’m listening to a Disney movie during this song. I’m not kidding, it’s really good. I especially love the last note that Debs and Errol hold together. The lyrics are hilarious if you really listen to them, so kudos to Debs and Errol for amusing me on a such a pretty song.

 4) Falling Quickly (Tetris parody of “Falling Slowly” from Once): Two words: ERROL’S FALSETTO. Okay, when I heard Errol’s falsetto in this song, I spent the rest of the song squealing in delight and rocking back and forth. I love Errol’s falsetto. I think he should sing in it more. Please. Anyway, “Falling Slowly” is already a pretty duet, and Debs and Errol just made it even more beautiful. The piano and guitar in the song blend so nicely together, just like the original song. There’s just something about this version’s music that I really love. I guess it’s not as strong as the original; it’s more laid back and relaxing. But seriously, Errol’s falsetto. He holds it for, like, a long time at the end. It’s pretty awesome.

5) My Partner’s a Nerd (parody of “Part of Your World” from The Little Mermaid): Sorry to break it to you Debs and Errol, but this song is my least favorite on the album. (It’s partially due to because I never really liked “Part of Your World.”) I mean, everything on the album is fantabulous and amazing. This song is just a little less fantabulous than the others: it’s just fantastic and amazing. However, I love Deb’s princess vocals on this song and the lyrics. I really think that this song describes Errol a lot. By the way, when Errol went outside, he broke a leg. Eek. So maybe he should stay with Star Trek reruns.

6) Commodore 64 (Commodore 64 parody of Bob Seger’s “Old Time Rock and Roll”): The piano at the beginning already had me hooked, but what really got me into this song was when Errol started singing. It didn’t even sound like Errol’s singing at the beginning for me! Errol’s vocals (as well as Debs’s harmony) in this song makes me visualize that he’s in leather jackets and he’s tromping around the stage (in his cast and crutches) like an old time rock-n-roller. Anyway, the guitar solo is also pretty rad. And is that a Commodore 64-bit type instrumental in the middle of it? Because if it is… I love it. Near the ending, where it’s kind of only the drums, I feel like I’m in Errol’s concert where the audience sings along with the song. I love this song. It’s my second favorite on the album.

7) If I Were an Undead Crawler (parody of the Barenaked Ladies’ (okay, who came up with the band name?) If I Had $1000000): This is my favorite song on the album. Seriously, it wraps up the album perfectly and it’s actually quite fitting for Halloween. Did I mention that it’s hilarious, especially near the middle of the song when Errol starts saying that— well, I don’t want to spoil the song for you. Listen to it yourself. The song starts with a mellowed version of a guitar and accordion? before Debs and Errol start singing in a call-and-response style. The beat in this song hooked me from the beginning, and it’s easy to snap/clap along to the song. The vocals are so full of energy and I just want to get up and dance and go crazy. The lyrics are freaking creative and catchy enough for anyone to like. I enjoyed every part of the song, but I especially enjoyed the part when Debs and Errol go up and down vocally at the end of a verse and the part near the end when Errol starts complaining (I’m trying not to spoil the song). Debs and Errol laugh at the end, which really amuses me and makes me smile for some reason, and then the guitar slowly fades out. It’s the perfect ending for the album. I love it. I love it. I love it.

Well there you have it, folks. Am I biased towards Debs and Errol? Yes, because I like these people and they’re nice to me. However, regardless of that, you should totally listen to the album and maybe even buy it. Each song is catchy, and there’s at least one song on the album that someone will like. I’m glad that I bought the album, and I cannot stop playing it!

Keep making more albums, Debs and Errol!

-Meli

One thought on “Review: CTRL+ALT+DUETS

  1. *laugh* Debs did over a hundred takes on Tribbles! *laugh* I can’t even get up to 12 takes still.

    “Yes, because I like these people and they’re nice to me. ” This makes me smile. 😀

    Oh, and I think I’m a bit of a narcissist, because when _I_ hear debs and I laugh on undead crawler, I start to laugh too. ^_^

Leave a Reply

